Fukusuke

Image

Recently, my husband started calling E “Fukusuke,” and I didn’t know why, so I finally asked him, “Who’s Fukusuke?” He said that E reminds him of Fukusuke dolls, which are a symbol of luck in Japan. I’d seen them before, but didn’t know they had a name.

DSC06545_2

I guess E does resemble a Fukusuke doll in that they both have large, almond shaped eyes, a tiny nose, mouth, and chin, and large earlobes. Evidently, large earlobes are considered to be good luck in Japan, because when my husband’s parents first saw E, they were excited that he inherited his dad’s. My husband says that when he was little people told him that he would be rich because of his ears. Interesting, huh? ♡

 

The-Beatles-Sgt.-Peppers-Lonely-Hearts-Club-Band3

By the way, did you know that a Fukusuke doll is featured in the album art for Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band? (Just above the “B” in Beatles.)

Leave a Reply

