ATX 2

Image

So, we ended making a quick trip BACK to Austin just a few days after the first trip, because my husband decided that he wanted to turn everything in for his PhD in person. Evidently, after you present your dissertation, there is a week for you to fix last minute things before you officially hand it in.

At the hotel:

Image

These were the sleeping arrangements.

Some culinary highlights:

Image

Hopdoddy Burger Bar: Spinach and Arugula Salad

Image

Kerbey Lane Cafe: Apple Pie à la Mode with coffee

Image

Torchy’s Tacos: Fried Avocado Taco

Image

Michi Ramen: I had the Summer Ramen (aka hiyashi chuuka) I really liked their hand drawn menu.

Image

Image

Upper Crust Bakery: I used to always get the strawberry danish, but I must admit, my favorite this time was the chocolate croissant.

Some other classic Austin spots we hit up:

Image

Terra Toys! This is my favorite toy store on the planet. We’ve bought gifts here in the past. They have a lot of unique, quality toys here as well as children’s books and clothes. This time, I discovered that they’ve expanded it, so E and I spent an hour and a half wandering the aisles. The Ergo carrier definitely came in handy.

Image

Image

E couldn’t take his eyes off all the colorful merchandise.

Image

I ended up purchasing a cloth book that I had been looking for, for a while. It’s got lots of different textured animal tails hanging off it, which I thought E would like to chew on (and he did). ♡

Image

Image

Zilker Park, where we rode the Zilker Zephyr.

Image

Mt. Bonnell

Image

Image

Town Lake, also pictured at the top of this post, where we visited the splash pad.

We crammed a lot into a couple of days! My husband also had to meet with a professor of his as well as a friend while we were in town, so we were constantly busy ,with no down time, which I prefer with the little guy. We probably won’t make it back to Austin until next spring/summer, but I’d really like to ride the Metro downtown with E and go to the Austin Children’s Museum (he’s too little to appreciate it now…) as well as hit up some of the quirky shops on South Congress (and maybe see the bats under the bridge!)

Leave a Reply

