May

Image              

               These past two months have flown by way faster than I could have even anticipated!

               The highlight of May was the nine days that my husband’s parents from Japan were here. E’s time spent with “Ojiichan” and “Obaachan” was pretty magical.

 

Image

 

               We’ve connected with them on Skype once a week since E was born, but we weren’t sure with how E would react to seeing them in real life. We were afraid that they might not be familiar enough and he might cry upon meeting them since he was right in the middle of his “stranger anxiety” phase, but he was all smiles when they approached us at the airport!

 

Image

 

               He seemed quite comfortable with them right away and at home he was immediately ready to sit in their laps and lead them around our apartment. They slept on a mattress in our living room and each morning, E would go hop on it to wake them up. Poor things! They were so jet lagged, but eager to spend time with their grandson ^^

 

Image

 

               A few days after they arrived, we headed to Austin for my husband’s Ph.D graduation ceremonies at UT. Even though they couldn’t understand the speakers, I could tell that it was important to them that they were here to celebrate their son’s accomplishment. My Japanese skills were definitely put to the test that weekend! It was hot outside after the ceremonies (especially in that robe!) and someone wanted to be held only by Papa ^^

 

Image

 

               Recently I’ve thought that sometimes E really looks a lot like his Obaachan, but seeing them together proved it to me! My husband and his brother also look a lot like their mom so it makes sense. As they posed for this picture together, my family said the same thing 🙂

 

Image      

               On the way back from Austin, we attended my nephew’s 5th birthday party, where E had his first splash pad experience and had a blast. My parents-in-law were really happy to see E’s cousins who have grown a lot since they saw them at our wedding four years ago. My nephew, the birthday boy, was the same age as E is now, the last time they saw him!

 

Image

 

               That following week, my mother-in-law taught me how to make takikomi gohan (seasoned rice cooked with veggies) which makes my husband and E happy ^^ It’s a really simple and delicious staple dish.

 

Image

 

               The night before their flight back to Japan, we we out for dinner to celebrate my husband’s birthday.

 

Image

Image

 

               My mom presented them with an album of photos she took during the graduation weekend. They were very moved and appreciative. They and my parents regretted not being able to speak more during their visit! I wish they could converse directly. They’re all such sweet people.

 

Image

 

               It was tough to see them go after such a short trip (my father-in-law owns his own business and couldn’t be away for too long), but I think that E appreciates seeing them on Skype much more now that he has actually met them, so we still talk with them online every weekend. I hope that next time, they, or we, will be able to visit longer!

 

Image

               We finished out May by attending a retirement party for one of my husband’s colleagues at his crazy fancy home, complete with museum, library, and very decorated yard.

 

               There was lots to celebrate in May and we were very thankful!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

